Spread the love



Lent is a period of fasting in Christendom, and the Catholic faithful mainly observes it. Lent is the period set aside to remember the biblical record of Jesus fasting for 40 days and 40 nights before his triumphant entry into Jerusalem. While the fasting period is not obligatory to all Christians, those who observe Lent do get confused about what they can eat and what they ought not to eat. The guide below helps clear the air on this issue.

So, Can You Eat Chicken During Lent?

No, and Yes! Any form of meat is prohibited, and these include chicken, lamb, beef, pork, deer, and ham. Meat is not permitted on Ash Wednesday and every Friday of the Lent period.

What Can You Eat During Lent?

The 40 days of lent is a period of fasting, prayers, and contemplations. It is a 40-day period that comes after the “Ash Wednesday,” which represents the 40 days Jesus spent in the wilderness being tempted by the devil. To most Christians who observe the lent, it is a period to prepare for Easter, which signifies the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Attending mass and following special eating rules are also characteristic features of Lent.

During Lent, Catholics eat less than usual; most adults often give up snacking and eat a single large meal and two smaller meals all through the day. Also, on Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, and all other Fridays during the Lent, adult members of the catholic organization abstain from meat in any form.

Though meat from lamb, beef, pork, ham, deer, and chicken are prohibited, Catholics can consume other animal products, including grains, fish, milk, egg, fruits, and vegetables. Many Catholics also give up some of their favorite treats during the lent, including chocolate and chicken snacks. Some Catholics go to the extent of giving up on watching TV.

What Are The Alternatives To Eating Meat During The Lent?

You can still enjoy your favorite meals even without the regular meat. There are lots of vegan and vegetarian recipes you can check out, and if you are not a vegetarian, you may find fish alternatives very great.

Shrimp skewers, veggie fish and chips, Salmon with pasta are just a few of the special delicacies that you can enjoy during the period of lent. There are mouth-watering salads and gluten-free recipes for those allergic to some grain meals.